



Louisiana Highway Safety Commission News Release November 25, 2024

Fricke Cooper Award achieved by 15 Louisiana officers

Baton Rouge – On November 22, 2024, 15 police officers from the State of Louisiana received the prestigious Fricke Cooper Achievement Award for Traffic Crash Investigation and Reconstruction with funding by the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission.

Last year was the inaugural year for officers from Louisiana to participate, and 13 total officers earned the award. For the award, the officers completed a rigorous, nine-course curriculum from the Northwestern University School of Professional Studies Center for Public Safety led by Director Adam Hyde.

The awards were presented at the Capital Hilton in downtown Baton Rouge.

By successfully completing the Center's entire sequence of traffic crash investigation and reconstruction programs, the officers have demonstrated a commitment to delivering the best, most professional traffic crash investigation service to their communities.

Without accurate crash data, it would be impossible to strategically serve traffic enforcement needs or deliver messaging with regards to traffic safety campaigns. The 2024 Fricke Cooper Award recipients include:

- Shawn Christopher Falke, Vermilion Parish Sheriff
- Lieutenant Joel V. Heard, LSP Troop F
- Captain Jared Seruntine, St. John the Baptist Parish Sheriff
- Sergeant Richard Watson, LSP Troop I
- Sergeant Tagie A. Journee, LSP Troop NOLA
- Master Trooper David Cummings, LSP Troop F
- Master Trooper Robby Woodward, LSP Troop F
- Trooper First Class Shawn B. Donahoe, LSP Troop D
- Trooper First Class Julius E Rolland Jr., LSP Troop B
- Lieutenant Mark L. Dennis, LSP Troop F
- Corporal Jose Geovanni Portillo, St. John the Baptist Parish Sheriff
- Lieutenant Ron Whittaker, Jr., LSP Troop L
- Sergeant Scot Greig, LSP Investigative Support Services
- Sergeant Ryan D. Baker, LSP Troop F
- Sergeant Steven B. Spainhower, LSP Troop F

"The accomplishments of these men fortify all law enforcement and safety stakeholders who prioritize traffic enforcement, and ultimately, their education and expertise benefit and uplift all of us as citizens of Louisiana," LHSC Executive Director Lisa Freeman said.

The Fricke Cooper Award is named for Lynn Fricke and Gary Cooper, internationally respected authorities in traffic crash investigation and reconstruction and NUCPS instructors.

The Northwestern University Center for Public Safety was established in 1936 to expand the scope of university-level education in traffic safety. Northwestern University Center for Public Safety has taught nearly a quarter of a million professionals in law enforcement in related fields from all fifty states and thirty-eight foreign countries.

NUCPS partners with the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission, Traffic Records Coordinating Committee, Department of Transportation and Development, and Louisiana State Police to offer critical police officer training courses.



Photo Caption: 2024 Fricke Cooper Award recipients with Adam Hyde, Director of Highway and Transportation Safety Programs, Northwestern University Center for Public Safety School of Professional Studies and LHSC Executive Director Lisa Freeman.

Photo Attribution: Greg Fischer, Louisiana Highway Safety Commission

Contact Information: Gregory Fischer Public Information Officer DPS – Louisiana Highway Safety Commission gregory.fischer@la.gov

O: 225-925-7858 C: 225-489-1969